Kisoro District is one of the Local Governments created under the Uganda Government decentralization policy in 1991. Kisoro District is located in the extreme South Western Uganda and shares a boundary with the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and the Republic of Rwanda. The District comprises of four main ethnic groups of people, namely the Bafumbira, Bakiga, Banyarwanda and Batwa. Kisoro is home to the Mountain Gorillas found in Mgahinga National Park and Bwindi Impenetrable National Park. The famous Muhabura Volcanic Mountains and the hilly terrain, the snaking Kabale - Kisoro road together with Bwindi impenetrable forest and Echuya bamboo forest make Kisoro one of the most beautiful parts of the world. Uganda's Title the 'Pearl of Africa' is attributed to this beauty. The district headquarters are located with in Kisoro town in Kisoro Municipality.